Tuesday, August 23, 2011

Detroit Bowling Hall of Fame Class Announced



August 26, 2011

By: Mark Martin


The Detroit Bowling Hall of Fame Committee, a committee of the Metro Detroit USBC Association (MDUSBC), has elected five new members to its Hall of Fame and named three others for special awards. This will increase the number of hall of fame members to 237.

Nicole Idziak-Owsley of Washington, Kerry Kreft of Warren, Joseph Krajenke of Clinton Township, Roy Biggs of Canton and Dolores Skorski of Sterling Heights earned their place in the prestigious hall. Mark Martin of Waterford Township, Paul Gross of Farmington Hills and Greg Gumtow of South Lyon will receive special awards.

Idziak-Owsley’s career started when she was the recipient of the “Star of Tomorrow” award from the Michigan Women’s Bowling Association (MWBA) in 1988.

She won the MWBA Queens in 1993; MWBA Team in 2010; Doubles in 1996, 2006 and 2007; and All-Events in 1997.

She was inducted into the Michigan State USBC WBA Hall of Fame in 2010.

She was a member of the championship RJ’s Pro Shop team in the Detroit Women’s Bowling Association in 1999.

Seven times she’s earned All-City honors, first team in 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010 and 2011 and second team in 2004.

On March 19, 2009 she was a member of the S&B Toll Free team which holds the all-time USBC record for a four-woman team series of 2,963.

She served three years as a high school bowling coach.

As a youth bowler she won five Michigan Junior Masters Association titles.

Her career high average is 236, which was the highest woman’s average in the nation in the 2005-06 season. She has nine 300 games and two 800 series with a high of 815.

Kreft was a member of the 1999 American Bowling Congress Team All-Events champion Dan Ottman Enterprises and the 2004 ABC Team champion S&B Pro Shop teams.

In 1998 he was a member of the Tucker’s Wheels team which won the Michigan State Bowling Association Team title.

In local competition Kreft won the MDUSBC Masters in 2008, four team titles (1999, 2001, 2002 and 2004) and doubles in 2004.

He also has seven Michigan Majors titles and numerous PBA Regional titles.

He’s been honored as a member of the All-City team three times earning first team selections in 1998, 1999 and 2001.

His career high average is 225, has 32 perfect 300 games and 11 series over 800 with 852 as the high.

Krajenke won the Greater Detroit Bowling Association Masters tournament in 1999 and was a member of the 2004 American Bowling Congress Team champion S&B Pro Shop.

He participated in the All-Star Classic for 25 years and proudly bowled on the AMF/Turbo team, which won 10 straight halves in the prestigious league.

He won GDBA and MDUSBC Team titles in 1988, 2000, 2002, 2006 and 2010. The 2010 team, Lang’s Wangs, set the city tournament record of 3,732. Twice he won Doubles titles (1991 and 2006) and All-Events in 2000.

He earned second team All-City honors in 1999 and was the captain of the Senior All-City team in 2010 and 2011.

He has two National Senior Bowling Association titles.

He boasts a high average of 232 recorded in the 2000-01 season and is the owner of twenty-five 300 games and 17 series over 800 with a tops of 868.

Veteran bowler Biggs won the Greater Detroit Bowling Association Senior Masters in 2005 and the GDBA Team title in 1986, has eighteen 300 games and five 800 series with a high of 845.

His career high average is 226 in the 2004-05 season.

He has bowled in 12 ABC/USBC National tournaments, averaging 190.

Three times he’s been named to the Senior All-City team (2004, 2005 and 2006). In 2004 and 2006 he was on the first team and 2005 on the second team.

He won two titles in the National Senior Bowling Association and one Great Lakes Senior Bowling Association title.

He served on the GDBA Board of Directors from 1997 until 2006, when the Metro Detroit USBC Association was formed. He was named Director of the Year in 2001 and earned the President’s award in 2000. He was elected to the MDUSBC Board of Directors in 2006 and served two years. He also has been an active participant in the Steve Cruchon Memorial tournament.

Skorski stepped on her path to the hall of fame when she was selected by Eddie Coy to be President of the Eddie Coy Ladies Classic league. She served in that capacity for many years.

Later she founded what would become the Sunnybrook Ladies Classic, which developed into the current S&B Ladies Classic at Bowl One Lanes, one of the top five average women’s league in the association.

She served over 30 years on the Detroit Women’s Bowling Association Board of Directors as a director, 3rd Vice-President and 1st Vice-President. While serving the DWBA she was on nearly every committee, chairing the Budget & Finance committee. She volunteered her assistance working the city tournament and was very active in charitable efforts for the Capuchin Soup Kitchen.

Skorski also was the squad organizer for the DWBA and the Michigan Women’s Bowling Association, regularly organizing from 10 to 20 teams each year for over 20 years.

She was as the chairman of the WIBC Membership Development committee for Michigan.

Mark Martin will be honored with the Thomas W. McKay Award for a lifetime of service to the sport of bowling.

Paul Gross will receive the Judge Watts Award for making outstanding contributions to the promotion of bowling.

Greg Gumtow will receive the George Prybyla Industry Award presented for someone involved in the ownership or management of a bowling center that has contributed to the promotion of the sport.

Induction ceremonies will take place Sunday, Nov. 13, 2011 at DeCarlo’s Banquet and Convention Center, 6015 E. Ten Mile Rd., Warren. Cocktails will be served at 4 p.m., dinner at 5 p.m. with ceremonies to follow. Tickets are $30 each and can be purchased through the MDUSBC office at (888) 753-6350 ext. 104.



300 Games
Date, Name, Hometown, Center, League
Aug. 18, Michael Miller, South Lyon, Plaza Lanes, Battle of the Sexes
Aug. 19, Yvonne Jones, Troy, Royal Lanes, Royal DPL
Aug. 20, Nicholas Cooper, Clarkston, Galaxy Lanes, Michigan Majors
Aug. 20, Rodney Morrow, Southfield, Mayflower Lanes, Summer Splash

800 Series
Date, Name (Score), Hometown, Center, League
Aug. 22, Gary Stroup (824), Warren, Bowl One Lanes, Senior Singles

Mark Martin writes a weekly bowling column for The Oakland Press and is the association manager of the Metro Detroit USBC Association. He can be reached at (248) 443-2695, faxed at (248) 443-2690 or e-mailed at mark.martin@mdusbc.com.

No comments:

Post a Comment